Posted in Tech, Television

Picking content off the Apple tree

overview_whatis_hero
image credite: https://www.apple.com/appletv/

Television as we’ve known it for the past 60 plus years is coming to an end. The days of sitting in your living room, clicking the “power” button on the remote control, and taking in whatever shows are currently airing on your favorite networks will soon be coming to an end. Televisions have become little more than monitors these days with so many different devices hooked up that provide much better content than anything a cable company can provide. Apple is currently in talks with content producers to create a new web-based TV service that would allow users to subscribe to programs that they want to enjoy, rather than paying for hundreds of useless channels. For years Apple has been rumored to be working on some sort of television-related device or service, but all reports have not come to fruition.

We’re heading towards an Internet-run media society pretty quickly. More and more people, new home/ apartment owners especially, are turning away from traditional television cable and looking for other ways to fill their media needs. At this point in my young life, I find myself filling my free time with YouTube content above anything else. I just don’t have time for the slow pace of cable. When I have time to myself, I like to watch what I want to watch, not what my cable provider has on for me at that time. With the Internet chock-full of shows and short videos that speak to me, why would I waste time watching something “just because it’s on”? When I do turn on my TV it’s usually for a sports game or some background noise while I’m paying more attention to something else I’m doing. YouTube, HBO Go, Netflix, and Hulu Plus offer an all around better experience than archaic cable providers cannot duplicate or match and at a cheaper price.

It’ll be interesting to see what Apple does with its [rumored] service. Hopefully Apple can take what it did to the music industry with iTunes and translate that into TV content. I’m looking forward to a future void of soap operas and Jerry Springer cluttering my mid-day relaxation.

Leave a Reply

