Posted in Television

Want more Full House? You got it, dude

image credit: businessinsider.com.au
image credit: businessinsider.com.au

The Tanner family is officially returning to television. John Stamos, who played the fan-favorite and all around cool cat Jesse Katsopolis, announced on Jimmy Kimmel Live that characters from the original series Full House will be appearing in a new series, Fuller House, set to launch on Netflix in 2016 with 13 episodes. The story will center around a recently widowed and pregnant DJ Tanner (Candace Cameron Bure) and her two sons. Stephanie Tanner (Jodie Sweetin) and neighbor Kimmy Gibbler (Andrea Barber) will also return as they decide to move back in to the familiar San Fransisco abode to help out DJ in her time of crisis (sound familiar?). Discussions for other former cast members to join the new series are ongoing, but Stamos is hopeful he can get them on board.

Full House has been, since I was a little kid, one of my favorite shows to watch on television. Any time I’m flipping channels and come across it on ABC Family, I’ll almost always stop and watch a half-hour or so of it, entranced by nostalgia. Though I never watched it on its initial run, it’s been a comfort show to me, something I can turn on and either watch contently or put on in the background when I’m doing something else, catching a couple warm glances of it to keep me going. But every time I’ve watched it, though I’ve grown to love the show, I’ve never went seeking it out, it’s always found me. I’ve never made it a point to sit down exclusively to watch Full House. To me, it’s a show that’s just on. I’m not sure if Full House means enough to me that I’d devote precious time during my day to just sit down and take in the Tanner family’s shenanigans. The show means a lot to me, but I think over the years I’ve just taken it for granted. All the Full House that needed to be shown was shown, enough is enough.

So many shows on Netflix vie for people’s attention these days. A sitcom about a goody-two-shoes family that always sticks together has no place in the drama-filled and action packed landscape of today’s on demand  entertainment. When this show comes to fruition, it will live and die solely on its nostalgia factor. I can’t see Fuller House creating any new fans or drawing viewers to re-watch all 8 seasons, 192 episodes of the series.

Also, after seeing a lot of Bob Saget’s stand up over the years, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to look at old Danny Tanner the same way ever again.

Leave a Reply

