Posted in Movies

Trailers, trailer, trailers!

image credit: http://unrealitymag.com
image credit: http://unrealitymag.com

Seemingly every week in April we got a new movie trailer that made my withheld nerdiness burst out like a bull at a rodeo. Since I’ve been very busy trying to graduate, I haven’t had time to share my thoughts on each one. Obviously, what took the cake for me was the new Force Awakens trailer. J.J. Abrams and Disney look like they are doing everything right with that movie, but I’ll save that for a different post. While I wasn’t much excited for some of these movies before viewing their new trailers, I’m fully on board with them all now and can’t wait to see them in theaters. I’ll give each of these trailers a hype level, 1-10, based on how excited I am to see them.

Man of Steel wasn’t what I thought it would be, but I am willing to see where DC takes their heroes. Their trying to squeeze a lot into this movie with variations that we haven’t seen before on familiar characters. I hope it works out as well as Nolan’s Batmans did.

HYPE LEVEL: 6

I’m ashamed to say I haven’t seen the original Mad Max. This new reboot wasn’t on my radar until I saw the operatic tones mixed with crazy action in the trailers. This new trailer shows more of the same. I’m not one to see some one-off action movie, but Mad Max: Fury Road appeals to my video gaming sensibilities with its large dystopian world and singular hero from which the movie gets its name.

HYPE LEVEL: 6

The original Fantastic Four movies were complete garbage. This reboot of the series looks like their taking the Nolan approach by grounding these heroes. Rather than fantastical space rides, the events which give the four their powers are based on science. It’s almost safe to say this movie is more of a science fiction movie and a super hero movie. It’s unfortunate that Fox and Marvel don’t play nice to bring each others’ characters into each others’ movies the way Sony and Marvel are doing now. Without the promise of a larger universe, I’m not too interested in the Fantastic Four story.

HYPE LEVEL: 4

Expanding on Marvel’s cinematic universe, Ant-Man will come on the heels of Avengers: Age of Ultron, Marvel’s epic team-up super hero movie. No chance Ant-Man will come close to box the office attendance of Age of Ultron, but as this trailer shows, Ant-Man will add to the Cinematic Universe’s comedic dimension.

HYPE LEVEL: 8

No dinosaur movie will come close to the majesty of the original Jurassic Park. However, Jurassic World looks like an exciting dino adventure for a new age. What hold my hype level back is the movie’s complete reliance on CGI to create its world. From the trailers, the most of the effects looks realistic, but I’m afraid I won’t get the same satisfaction I got the first time I saw the original Park.

HYPE LEVEL: 7

This isn’t a nerd movie, but deserves credit nonetheless. Finally, Johnny Depp steps away from his atrocious fantasy character films and steps into a dramatic role. Black Mass hits close to home, greatly affecting my hype level for the movie. This first trailer accurately captures a glimpse of the crazed mobster Whitey Bulger. Having lived close to Boston all my life, his name has been familiar to me since I was little.

HYPE LEVEL: 9

This trailer speaks for itself. A voice over by Luke Skywalker, the look of true grit from the original trilogy and a look at a couple familiar characters has made myself and many more Star Wars fans around the world uber-excited for the beginning of the next trilogy. It looks like J.J. Abrams and Disney have taken everything we love about the originals and updated them without totally disregarding their spirits like the awful prequel trilogy did. Christmas is already my favorite time of year, but with The Force Awakens coming, I think this might be the best Christmas ever.

HYPE LEVEL:

90002

Leave a Reply

